Can you start by telling us a little about yourself?

I was born in Connecticut and spent most of my childhood living in Colchester, CT. Currently, I am a rising senior at Smith College in Northampton, Massachusetts, majoring in Government with a focus in International Relations. Last summer I worked in Washington D.C. as a legal intern at an immigration law firm and as a policy intern at the National Women’s Political Caucus. About a week ago I returned from spending a semester studying abroad in Morocco, researching migration and asylum law. Public policy has long been a passion of mine. I am most passionate women’s political representation and access to reproductive care, education, and support as survivors, as well as immigration and asylum law reform. I am also really interested in international diplomacy and security studies.

One of the ways we are able to organize others in the fight for reproductive freedom is to tell them why we are in this fight. What motivates you?

I believe totally and completely in a woman’s right to make choices regarding her body, her reproductive health, and her future, and I believe fully in her right to exercise her choice without fear, intimidation, or deception. I also believe in the transformative power of positive policies and grassroots activism, and the ways that these can change women’s lives for the better, even after a crushing 2016 election. My motivation is found in combining these things that I love and about passionate about, together into my work.

Who is someone that inspires you in the work you do?

There are so many people that I’ve met, learned about, or who I have had the honor of learning from or working alongside that have inspired me in this work for reproductive freedom. One of the foremost is my Gender, Law, and Policy professor from last fall. She earned both her PhD and JD, and worked as a lawyer for many years. She currently is a professor at Smith in the Study of Women and Gender department, and writes articles for Ms. Magazine. The class that I took with her was incredibly transformative.  In Gender, Law, and Policy we delved into the laws and legislation that have shaped women’s lives in contemporary America and throughout history. Our class focused on issues of women’s reproductive health, especially access to contraceptives and abortion, as well education and Title IX, employment, family law, and sexual violence and consent standards. Not only did this class change the way that I view the ability of constitutional and statutory laws to create tremendous, positive change in women’s lives, but it relit my hope in the effectiveness grassroots activism, in our ability as women to affect social change, and in the importance of women’s continued engagement in politics.

What are some of your favorite things to do outside of work and school?

In the summers I love to hike and camp in my free time, and I’ll be spending a week at Acadia National Park in August. At school I work as a barista in our campus center cafe (I love my job!), as a tour guide, and am active in the College Democrats of Massachusetts as the Legislative Chair of the Women’s Caucus.

Where do you imagine yourself in 10 years?

In ten years I see myself having hopefully completed a Masters degree and a Law degree. I may be living and working overseas or I might be living somewhere in the US working for a law firm. I’m not really sure yet but I’m excited to find out.

Anything else you would like to share?

I’m really happy to be working for NARAL Pro-Choice CT this summer!

Back to News