October 1, 2018 – Hartford, CTAt a moment where national politicians continue the assault on reproductive rights, NARAL Pro-Choice Connecticut PAC is proud to endorse candidates running for statewide office and for election to our state legislature who are all 100% pro-choice. Reproductive rights are intimately entwined with economic security, and these candidates all recognize the importance of contraceptive coverage, abortion access, and other issues connected to reproductive health for women across Connecticut.


Over the past two years, we have seen progress on issues such as protecting and expanding vital women’s preventive services and contraceptive benefits mandated in the Affordable Care Act, improving workplace protections for pregnant employees, allowing pregnant individuals in Connecticut to exercise the right to a living will, and taking steps to improve pay equity. Through the work of these endorsed candidates, we look forward to continuing our forward momentum on reproductive freedom, gender equity, and reducing health disparities.


“This year, the importance of pro-choice politicians at the state level truly matters more than ever before,” said Dolly Haddad, NARAL Pro-Choice Connecticut PAC President. “We are so proud to have endorsed so many strongly pro-choice politicians who will fight for all of our rights here in Connecticut. Our goal is to work toward the strongest protections in the nation for reproductive freedom, where every individual in our state, regardless of race, gender identity, sexuality, immigration or economic status, can access the reproductive healthcare they need. The politicians endorsed by NARAL Pro-Choice Connecticut PAC will help us work toward this goal.”


Full endorsement list of NARAL Pro-Choice Connecticut PAC:

NARAL Pro-Choice Connecticut PAC endorses the following candidates for statewide office, State Senate and House of Representatives. Endorsements are given only to candidates who are deemed by the NARAL Pro-Choice Connecticut PAC to be 100% pro-choice.


Statewide Office

Office                           Name   (Party)

Governor                    Ned Lamont (D)

Lt. Governor               Susan Bysiewicz (D)

Secretary of the State Denise Merrill (D)

Comptroller                Kevin Lembo (D)

Attorney General       William Tong  (D)

Treasurer                    Shawn Wooden (D)


State Senate

District                        Name   (Party)

1          Barbara Barry (Green)

4          Stephen Cassano (D)

5          Beth Bye (D)

8          Melissa Osborne (D)

9          Matt Lesser (D)

11        Martin Looney (D)

12        Christine Cohen (D)

13        Mary Abrams (D)

16        Vickie Orsnin Nardello (D)

17        Jorge Cabrera (D)

18        Robert R Statchen (D)

19        Catherine Osten (D)

20        Martha Marx (D)

21        Monica Tujak Brill (D)

22        Marilyn Moore (D)

24        Julie Kushner  (D/WF)

25        Bob Duff (D)

26        Will Haskell (D)

28        Michelle Lapine McCabe (D)

29        Mae Flexer (D)

30        David Lawson (D)

31        Christopher Wright (D)

32        Catherine P De Carli (D)

33        Norman Needleman (D)

35        John Perrier (D)

36        Alexandra Bergstein (D)



House of Representatives

District            Name (Party)

2          Raghib Allie-Brennan (D)

7          Joshua Hall (D)

12        Geoff Luxenberg (D)

13        Jason Doucette (D)

17        Eleni Kavros DeGraw (D)

18        Jillian Gilchrest (D)

21        Mike Demicco (D)

22        Richard D Ireland Jr. (D)

23        Matt Pugliese  (D)

27        Gary Turco (D)

28        Russell Morin (D)

29        Kerry Szeps Woods (D)

30        Joe Aresimowicz (D)

31        Jill Barry (D)

32        Laurel Steinhauser (D)

34        Theresa Govert (D)

35        Jason Adler (D)

35        Madeleine Leveille (Green)

36        Christine Palm (D)

37        Hugh McKenney (D)

40        Christine Conley (D)

46        Emmett D. Riley (D)

47        Kate Donnelly  (D)

48        Linda Orange (D)

49        Susan Johnson (D)

55        Tiffany V. Thiele (D)

56        Michael A. Winkler (D)

58        Tom Arnone (D)

60        Jane Garibey (D)

62        Amanda Webster (D)

64        Maria Horn (D)

66        Alex Larsson (D)

67        Thomas O’Brien (D)

69        Greg Cava (D)

76        Paul Honig (D)

80        David Borzellino (D)

81        Ryan Rogers (D)

84        Hilda Santiago (D)

88        Josh Elliot (D)

89        Anne Harrigan (D)

94        Robyn Porter (D)

96        Roland Lemar (D)

98        Sean Scanlon (D)

100      Quentin Phipps (D)

101      John-Michael Parker (D)

102      Robin Comey  (D)

103      Liz Linehan (D)

106      Rebekah Harriman-Stites (D)

107      Daniel Pearson (D)

110      Bob Godfrey (D)

113      Elaine Matto (D)

117      Cindy Wolfe Boynton (D)

118      Kim Rose (D)

120      Philip Young (D)

121      Joe Gresko (D)

123      Sujata Gadkar-Wilcox (D)

125      Ross Tartell (D)

127      John (Jack) Hennessy (D)

132      Caitlin Clarkson Pereira (D)

133      Cristin McCarthy Vahey (D)

134      Ashley Gaudiano (D)

136      Johnathan Steinberg (D)

138      Kenneth Gucker (D)

142      Lucy Dathan (D)

143      Stephanie Thomas (D)

144      Caroline Simmons (D)

147      Matt Blumenthal (D)

150      Stephen Meskers (D)

151      Laura Kostin (D)



# # #

About NARAL Pro-Choice Connecticut, PAC
The PAC works to support politicians who are in favor of pro-choice legislation and defend against anti-choice legislation at the state capitol, believing strongly that all women have the right to access the full range of reproductive choices including preventing unintended pregnancy, bearing healthy children, and choosing legal abortion.

Back to News